HOF Pictures

** Below are Committee and Inductee pictures.  Not all are listed below and if you have pictures, please contact us via the contact us page at https://vsdaa.org/contact-us.  Inductee awards are for the following categories – ACES (A – Arts; C – Community Service; E – Education; S- Sports) **




Janice Couch-DillmanJanice Couch-Dillman
Rocco DeVitoRocco DeVito
Daphne CoxDaphne Cox
Recording Secretary
Rhonda Jennings-AreyRhonda Jennings-Arey
Corresponding Secretary
Tracey MawyerTracey Mawyer Edwin MartinEdwin Martin
Steve DeaversSteven Deavers William W.William W.  

** 2022 Reunion was postponed to 2024 due to covid and other unforeseen challenges **



** HOF and Reunion was delayed due to Coronavirus (Covid-19) **



Left to Right: Wayne Frick, Robert Arnold Augusta, Donnie Dove, Steve Daniels, Sallie Mae Pauley, Leonard Earl Wright, Jim Foglesong


Front row: Clifton Lockridge, Janice Dillman, Rhonda Jennings-Arey, Rocco DeVito

Back row: Steven Deavers, Daphne Cox



Left to Right: Troy Stevenson, Tracy Waddell, Rachel Bavister, Coach Al Deuel, Race Drake, Kay Martin


1980-1981 Track Inductees
** Need Names, only remember 2-3 here **

2014 HOF bookmark, 40th anniversary, picture is the HOF logo, Committee - Chair Rocco DeVito, Janice Dillman, Race Drake, Edwin Martin, Frances Marzolf


Left to Right: Mel Carter, ???, Daphne Cox, Bill Webb


1969-1970 Cheerleaders
Left to Right: Ruth (Freeman) Rowan, ???, Coach Shirley (Roop) Werner, Peggy (Barbour) LeFors, Linda (Collins) Blehm, Gloria (Hite) Shrum, ???



pictures identitical with quality differences (blurred vs clearer on bottom picture) - Left to Right - Edwin Martin, Kenneth Minnis, Billy Elliott, Betty Roop Young, Glenn Patterson and Tonia Saunders



picture not clear enough to identify names off their plaques and need help identifying them.Back row: Bryan McGee, Jim Kiser, Gina Tester, ???, Stan Byers
Front row: Charles Keen, ???, ???, Jimmy Dickens



left to right (front) - Clifton Lockridge, Ruby Ann Foster Sebrell, Edward Carney; back row - Ronnie Blaylock, Anthony Panella and Ross Shoop



Left to Right - leora Hinnant, Grady Spency (inducted in '96 and unable to make it then till now), Elizabeth Harper, Joe Shinpaugh Jr and Gertie Galloway (niece of Robert Aumon and mary Agnew Bass)


Left to right - Winnie Inabinett for David T. Inabinett, Clifton M. Belew, Montana Houchins, Rocco DeVito for Job Turner



Left to Right - Chairman Race Drake Jr inducts James E. Burnette, George Wayne Heppert and John Abner Caudle Jr



Left to Right - Rodney E. Quillen, ??? and William RamosLeft to Right – Rodney E. Quillen, J.C. Lewellyn and William Ramos



Left to Right - Coach T.C. Lewellyn inducts Conley H. Dishon, Leo Yates for Jack Yates and Doughlas Kidd



Left to right (front) - Leo Yates Jr for Dock Yates, Thomas Harmon, J.C. Lewellyn, Helen Spady for George Spady and Thomas Sullivan; (back row) Jesse Smith, Olin Creasy, Gordon Landes, Leo Yates, Ernest Prillaman, Ray Parks Jr, Ryland Thomas



Coch T.C. Lewellyn (left) inducts Bernard Moore, Obbie Nunn and Lewis Roop for excellence in sports in years past, 1980 at Holiday Inn



VA Guide cover page showing HOF Rocco DeVito (right) presenting to Thomas Lewellyn (left) an award. It should be noted that Rocco started HOF work in 1974 also.VA Guide cover picture (page 2): Rocco DeVito (right), founder and chairman of VSD Sports Hall of Fame, presentating an initial VSD Sports Hall of Fame plague to Thomas C. Lewellyn at the recent Homecoming affair.

A copy of this Virginia Guide issue can be found here also – https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=VGD19741201.1.2&e=——-en-20–1–txt-txIN——–.



(Origin Story, aka: birth of HOF)

Article by Aumon Bass in the Virginia Guide 1958, Deaf teachers and staff framed were Miss Susan Wilcox Harwood (1843-1863), Henry Adolphus Bear (1858-1899), Thomas jefferson Williams (1869-1904), William Meade Berkeley (1871-1900), Rev. John Walter Michaels D.D. (1882-1884)  article continues - Hartwell macon Chamberlayne (1890-1905), Stephen Clarence jones (1896-1898 and 1900-1921), Rueben Swipe Weaver (1898-1937), Charles Henry Williams (1905-1921), T. Carlton Lewellyn (1913-1919), Mrs. Florence Williams Nicholson (1917-1945), R. Aumon Bass (1925-1959), Joseph Weart Healy (1939-1958)